Six Word Fridays: pace

23 09 2011

There are a lot of things

I wanted to do this Fall

But I’ve had to prioritize becauseSix Word Fridays

There is no pace set faster

Than life with a toddler, and…

Truth: You can’t do it all.

This post is a sad tribute (lament?) about the straight-to-the-heart fact that I can’t attend the ShesConnected Conference anymore. 😦 With a business trip to Atlanta this month and Blissdom Canada next month, ShesConnected got squeezed out. Three trips in a 5-week window is not doable. I’d miss my family too much. But just let me whine about it here a little bit, okay?

Now hop on over to Melissa’s blog – there are some Six Word Friday gems waiting for you.

Actions

Information

19 responses

23 09 2011
ayala

You are welcome to whine…which you are not really doing πŸ™‚ the truth is you can’t do everything…. πŸ™‚ be kind to yourself and take a deep breath πŸ™‚

23 09 2011
melgallant

Thanks Ayala. I’ve been trying to take that deep breath for a while now. I think I need to get back into yoga. πŸ™‚

23 09 2011
ayala

I started to do yoga a few weeks ago and I have to say that it’s amazing πŸ™‚

23 09 2011
Kate

It’s so hard to accept our limits. But it’s beautiful to know your priorities. You can’t do it all. And it’s fine to vent – I heard no whining.

23 09 2011
Adrienne

Chosen wisely, you have ~ if I had a “do over” I would have travelled less when my kids were young. I remember feeling torn and disappointed. The good news is, those years move along quickly and you’ll have more flexibility again…or is that the bad news πŸ˜‰

24 09 2011
melgallant

Thanks Adrienne. I know what you mean. It’s so hard to be away from my daughter. I need to be selective with my travels. My favourite is when we can all travel together. I’m looking forward to lots of family trips/vacations over the years ahead!

23 09 2011
Sara

It’s not whining…it stinks when you have to miss out on things you don’t want to. I have a hard time accepting that I can’t do it all – I keep trying and failing. Maybe one day I’ll learn

24 09 2011
melgallant

Yes and I’ve been able to do a lot this year. In truth, my year has been full of goodness – I shouldn’t complain. πŸ™‚

23 09 2011
Mama Zen

Yep. That’s the truth!

24 09 2011
melgallant

Sigh…:)

23 09 2011
Brook @2bdancing

Well, that’s a bummer. But at least you’ve got your priorities in order πŸ™‚

24 09 2011
melgallant

Yes, priorities. Family first no matter what. And, there’s always next year. πŸ™‚

24 09 2011
Melissa

So. True. Can’t do it all, and sometimes not even half of what you’d think. (Or is that just me?) So sorry you have to miss something fun.

24 09 2011
melgallant

Not just you…what you say is exactly right.

25 09 2011
iseeyoulookingatme

Amen! You cannot do it all!!

25 09 2011
MommyRachelle

It really is hard, sometimes… I have so many things I want to experience, but I wont leave my family behind either. Enjoy the two conferences you are attending – – I know they’ll be good.

26 09 2011
Keia

…as you said, “we can’t do it all.” – now that’s the honest truth.

p.s. It’s okay to whine sometimes.

9 10 2011
Alison @ L is for Latte

So true. I have to keep reminding myself that this time won’t last forever–even though some days with small children seem like they will NEVER END–and to take advantage of what life is offering me right now.

11 10 2011
Mel Gallant

Hi Alison – exactly right. this time is too precious. I just couldn’t bear to be away from DD again and again and again within such a short time frame.

Leave a Reply

