Six Word Fridays: unexpected

19 08 2011

Anger can come up so unexpectedly

As can love, jealousy and sadness

What you thought was, just isn’t

How unexpected the force of feeling

Reality is shifted – a knee-jerk reaction?

Or was the emotion wading (waiting?)

Biding its time beneath the surface

Surprising only you – but then again

Perhaps you’re just good at ignoring

What you aren’t ready to face


We’ve all been caught off guard by our emotional reactions to circumstances and people. It’s good every once in a while to wonder why…Check out more Six Word Friday-ness on Melissa’s blog.

Actions

Information

19 responses

19 08 2011
kate

“Perhaps you’re just good at ignoring

What you aren’t ready to face”

wow, this just hit me hard.
guilty. i am guilty of this.
it’s so easy to claim surprise…

19 08 2011
melgallant

Me too, Kate. Me too.

19 08 2011
iseeyoulookingatme

It’s interesting how much we can learn about ourselves just by writing it down. Anger is a hard one to control!

19 08 2011
melgallant

It sure is a hard one to control…so is love, right?

19 08 2011
ayala

wow, this is intense. Nice write!

19 08 2011
melgallant

Thanks Ayala. πŸ™‚

19 08 2011
Tamara

Erk. Nail. You hit it on its head. And it’s always comforting to know I’m not alone.

22 08 2011
melgallant

Thanks Tamara!

19 08 2011
Kate

Beautiful! Your images and words are powerful. And I know to well the ignoring what I’m not ready to face. Too well.

22 08 2011
melgallant

Me too, Kate, me too.

19 08 2011
Adrienne

This is outstanding. I wrote about tears bubbling up at an unexpected time and place (the post office!) It’s funny, I know I’ve got a lot of emotions right under the surface…so that part’s not surprising to me…it’s the things that trigger them, or when they choose to ‘bubble over’ that tends to surprise me! Great post!

22 08 2011
melgallant

Adrienne,

Planning a wedding can do that! I totally see why mailing the invites would bring forth some tears (of joy, nostalgia, etc.).

19 08 2011
Brook @2bdancing

That’s deep.

πŸ™‚

22 08 2011
melgallant

Thanks Brook. πŸ™‚

21 08 2011
Melissa

Outbursts of unexpected feeling sometimes mean I need to spend some time swimming in those uncharted waters. Figuring out what’s what. Making a map of my own heart. (This happens, you know, SOMEWHAT OFTEN.) πŸ˜‰

22 08 2011
melgallant

Hi Melissa,

I need to swim those unchartered waters more often. πŸ™‚

22 08 2011
millermix

I avoid it. I know it’s there, so there’s no shock — but I pretend I don’t know so I can feign surprise. I don’t recommend it.

22 08 2011
MommyRachelle

so true that I ignore what I’m not ready to face… it’s much easier that way, sometimes…

22 08 2011
Sara

I LOVE this. Love it, especially these 2 lines ~ “Reality is shifted – a knee-jerk reaction? Or was the emotion wading (waiting?)” It’s sometimes so hard to know where those strong emotions come from.

Leave a Reply

